Adrenaline.ai wants you to talk to your codebase.

Adrenaline.ai wants you to talk to your codebase.

https://useadrenaline.com/app - Understand your code with AI

Adrenaline is a new AI tool (open source) that lets you talk to your code. Just add your repository and start asking questions about it. Let's see it in action.

demo.gif

TLDR:

This is a great tool with a lot of potential. However, if it doesn't know the answer because the code base doesn't have it, then it should clarify it.

I created a public repository with some useful SQL commands:

https://github.com/itaybraun1/useful-postgres-queries

The AI chatbot finished reading the code in a few seconds. The UI shows an 404 error, for some reason. I choose to ignore it.

This is the code in the repository. A basic SQL.

Let's ask a question about it: what is the version of the server?

So far so good. Now let's ask another question. The answer to this question is NOT in the repository. It found an answer but I would expect a clear message that warns me the answer (completion) was taken from an external source (ChatGPT maybe?). I see the text "Generate an explanation" but couldn't conclude that means an external source.

The 3rd question, also asks about information that is not in the repository. I have no idea where the data comes from and this is not a good answer. To me, I prefer the answer "I don't know, would you like me to use ChatGPT?" rather than hallucination ( == Bull**it with confidence)

BTW, this is how ChatGPT answers the question:

My Take on the product

This is a great tool. I see the potential here to get answers on your code base. I only tested it with a very short repository, so no idea how it would perform with real-world complexity. With 2.5K stars already in GitHub I hope a vibrant community will help make it a great tool in the hands of the AI-enhanced developer.